First game

The closest fields and forests I can hunt are a 30-45 minute drive, so I usually can only hunt on the weekends.  This was the second weekend I had Jebe free flying.  She seemed to act much better this week flying between 770-785 g.  Saturday she followed along the edge of a field as I beat the grass, then moved between the little islands of brush as I started whacking them.  She made two attempts at a woodrat, but missed both.

After hunting for around an hour I finally flushed a rabbit and she made a short chase but came up short.  The rabbit ducked through some thick, close-set samplings she obviously didn’t think she could crash through.  A squirrel hunter had heard my whistles and came to investigate.  He saw Jebe’s flight at the rabbit and I invited him to help me beat the brush and reflush it.  He thought that was great and jumped in.  As we walked around I kicked a honeysuckle bush and heard a jingle of bells.  I knew I didn’t flush a rabbit and got confirmation when Jebe slammed into the honeysuckle.  Her back was to me, but when I got around the bush I could see she was strung out, dangling beneath outstretched wings with a dead woodrat.

20141213_092027-1 small

Jebe with her wood rat

 

I extracted her from the bush and she was not happy about it.  I imaging she thought I was going to rob her of her kill.  I clipped her jesses to my glove and laid her and the rat out in some shorter grass.  She came around in a minute and started working the rat.  After she broke in I let her feed up a bit, then covered the rat up and traded her off for some quail legs.  The trade-off went smoothly and I called it a day.

20141213_092146-1 small

Jebe not happy I picked up her out of the bush.

 

Sunday I went back to the same field but after more than an hour failed to flush anything, rabbit or woodrat, though did find about a dozen woodrat nests.  I think I’ll have to find a different spot.  The field originally looked promising, but didn’t deliver.

20141214_104259-1 small

Jebe on a low perch just after I released her for the morning’s hunt.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Falconry

One response to “First game

  1. It’s always disappointing when the spot looks like a sure bet honey hole and yet you can’t kick up a thing 😦
    Hope you have a new spot and happy hunting this weekend!

Leave a Reply

