Mews, part II

If you missed the first post I made about mews and building my own mews, you can find it here.

This is only a brief update about how my mews are coming.  It’s taking a lot longer to build it then I thought it would take and I have less free time than I expected. I bought some more 2×4’s, enough to finish making the wall panels.  It’s taking awhile to get all of the wood because it’s pretty expensive and I can only fit so much in the back of our Elantra.

Image

Sarah and I buying 21 2×4’s

I still need to buy the wood and plastic for a roof, as well as the 4×4’s for corner posts, but it’s certainly coming along.

I only finished one panel and half-finished two others since my first post about mews.  The two that are half finished are the front panels that will have barred windows.  I don’t have to 2×6’s and 2×3’s to make the windows, but the frames and bottom panels are assembled and both are painted.

The panel that I finished I’m actually rather proud of.  Sarah brought home a piece of glass, 36″x24″ or something like that.  I thought I’d frame the glass and install it on the side panel for the equipment room to allow some light to get in.  I wasn’t sure exactly how to go about it when I realized the simplest solution – cut a channel into the mid-brace 2×4 and then cut a second brace and two side pieces to frame the glass.  Cutting the channels wasn’t overly difficult with a radial arm saw, though I was a bit worried the whole time about the blade catching the wood and shooting it out into the driveway.  I ended up having to offset the blade just a hair from the center line and making two passes, flipping the wood around for the second pass, as the glass was wider than the saw blade.

Image

Cutting the channels in the window framing.

This left a thin strip of wood, perhaps 1/64″ to 1/32″ thick between the blade cuts.  It was easy enough to remove with a wide wood chisel.

After cutting the channels I painted the window frame pieces and the rest of the partly assembled panel – didn’t want to get paint of the glass once it was installed.

Image

Window framing, after painting

I had to cut the section out of the panel where the window was going to be installed.  I ended up propping the panel up on some 2×4’s and using a circular saw.  It may have not been the safest way to cut the hole, but it worked.

Image

Painted panel before cutting the window hole.

After that the panel was as easy to assemble as all the rest of the panels, predrilling some holes and zipping screws in.

Image

Panel with the framed window in place

Image

Closer detail of the window

Image

The cordless drill died after I predrilled the holes but before I could put in most of the screws. I laid a screw next to each hole so it would be quicker to finish when the battery charged. Sarah kept calling it my art project, and I thought it was even more so when it was illuminated by the car headlights.

So far the total cost of materials breaks down like this:

35 2×4’s – $136.53

9 3/8″ 4×8′ plywood – $146.01

5 lbs 3″ wood screws – $30.16

5 gallons white paint, paint roller, brush, paint tray – $87.71

TOTAL = $400.41

As I said earlier, I still need to buy material for the roof, as well as hinges for the doors and figure out what I’ll do for the floor, so this price will go up a bit more.

3 Comments

Filed under Falconry

3 responses to “Mews, part II

  1. Pingback: Falconry test | Skvarla Falconry

  2. Pingback: Mews III | Skvarla Falconry

  3. Pingback: Mews IV | Skvarla Falconry

Leave a Reply

